The Bible contains a series of mysteries and it’s not easy to understand the Bible with our human eyes. Some claim that God forsook Jesus by citing Matthew 27:46 (Of course, most Christians do not think so.) They misunderstood the Word of God because they try to interpret it literally.

About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?“–which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” (Matthew 27:46)

Literally, it seems that God forsook Jesus. Let’s find out why Jesus said so. Jesus cited the passage of Psalms 22. Why did he quote it? If we look at Psalms 22, we can understand the reason.

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? [Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?] Why are you so far from saving me, so far from the words of my groaning? (Psalms 22:1)

David, while running away from enemies, sought help from God. If you read the rest of the Chapter, you will notice that David praised God. The reason Jesus cited the verse is to show that He fulfilled the prophecy of King David.

They divide my garments among them and cast lots for my clothing. (Psalms 22:18)

It’s not about natural David, but the prophecy about Jesus. The Roman soldiers mocked Jesus and stripped him. And they divided his garments among them (John 19:24.)

Although David said, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?,” he praised God in the latter part.

But you, O LORD, be not far off; O my Strength, come quickly to help me. Deliver my life from the sword, my precious life from the power of the dogs… I will declare your name to my brothers; in the congregation I will praise you. You who fear the LORD, praise him! All you descendants of Jacob, honor him! Revere him, all you descendants of Israel! (Psalms 22:20-23)

Jesus came as King David and fulfilled the prophecy of David’s throne (Isaiah 9:6-7; Luke 1:31-33.) However, the prophet Hosea prophesied that we should seek King David in the last days (Hosea 3:5.) It’s because Jesus, who came as David, established Zion with the feasts of the new covenant (Isaiah 33:20), but the truth of the new covenant disappeared during the Dark Ages. So the Apostle John wrote that only the Root of David is able to open the Bible and its seven seals (Revelation 5:1-5.) Who did fulfill this prophecy in this age? ONLY Christ Ahnsahnghong did. He was baptized at the age of 30 in 1948 (also fulfilling the prophecy of the fig tree) and preached the new covenant for remaining 37 years. The World Mission Society Church of God (WMSCOG) observes the new covenant restored by the Root of David: Christ Ahnsahnghong. Please refer to the following article for more about this topic: http://www.thetruewmscog.com/christ-ahnsahnghong-is-not-king-david/

Afterward the Israelites will return and seek the LORD their God and David their king [Spiritual David]. They will come trembling to the LORD and to his blessings in the last days (Hosea 3:5)

